Term Dates

 

ACADEMIC YEAR 

As a specialist Studio College, the approach to teaching and learning at De Salis is entirely different to other settings. Established exclusively for learners aged 13-19, there are many differences in the way that both the academic year and working day are organised as compared with other traditional secondary schools locally. Perhaps, the most significant difference is the way in which the curriculum is organised and delivered. Learners at De Salis are required to undertake authentic projects generally associated with their chosen course of study. These projects form part of a tailored personalised programme which sets out to make the learning experience more relevant, practical and active. Given the subject based aspects of the curriculum are organised in five-week blocks, there is ample opportunity to follow up each topic with enrichment activities, including one-to-one and group tutorials to consolidate learning. Where feasible, work experience and external trips are also scheduled in week six at the conclusion of each block. These bespoke elements of the curriculum are integral to the overall offer at De Salis and, for employers, they are seen to be crucial as the means to develop the workplace skills and attitudes which make learners stand out in a competitive jobs market. The programme also ensures that learners are well positioned to compete for places at university; enrol on high quality apprenticeship schemes; consider internships; or enrol on a whole range of work-based training programmes. Please find below arrangements for the academic year which sets out clear start and end dates for each term. It is also important to note periods of College closure as learners and staff are not required to report at these times. Within these dates, each individual learner will be given a bespoke programme designed to meet his or her learning needs and ensure that interim targets, in terms of progress are met. This is to ensure that no learner falls behind. Details of these arrangements will be provided well in advance of the programme. 

 

PLEASE NOTE: All dates are subject to change.

AUTUMN TERM 2021
Term Begins - Monday 23rd August
Bank Holiday - Monday 30th August
Term Ends - Friday 17th December
College Closure - Monday 20th December 2021 to Monday 3rd January 2022
WINTER TERM 2022
Term Begins -  Tuesday 4th January
Term Ends - Friday 25th March 
College Closure - Monday 28th March to Friday 1st April
SPRING TERM 2022
Term Begins -  Monday 4th April
Good Friday -  Friday 15th Apri
Easter Monday -  Monday 18th April
Bank Holiday -  Monday 2nd May
Bank Holiday -  Thursday 2nd June
Bank Holiday (Platinum Jubilee) Friday 3rd June
Term Ends -  Friday 17th June
College Closure -  Monday 20th June to Friday 1st July
SUMMER TERM 2022
Term Begins -  Monday 4th July
Term Ends - Friday 5th August
College Closure - Monday 8th to Friday 19th August  
AUTUMN TERM 2022
New Academic Year Begins -  Monday 22nd August 

 

Personalised Enrichment Programme Dates

Please find below forthcoming arrangements which form part of the enrichment programme.  Within these dates, each individual learner will be provided with a bespoke learning programme designed to meet his or her learning needs and ensure that interim targets, in terms of progress, are met.  Students are expected to follow and complete set tasks during the time allocated, scheduled as follows: 

AUTUMN TERM 2021 
Monday 27th September to Friday 1st October 2021
Monday 8th to Friday 12th November 2021
WINTER TERM 2022
Monday 7th to Friday 11th February 2022
Monday 21st to Friday 25th March 2022
SPRING TERM 2022 
Monday 9th to Friday 13th May 2022

Details of these arrangements will be provided well in advance of the programme.  All dates subject to change.

 

 

Contact Us