Term Dates

 

ACADEMIC YEAR 

As a specialist Studio College, the approach to teaching and learning at De Salis is entirely different to other settings. Established exclusively for learners aged 13-19, there are many differences in the way that both the academic year and working day are organised as compared with other traditional secondary schools locally. Perhaps, the most significant difference is the way in which the curriculum is organised and delivered. Learners at De Salis are required to undertake authentic projects generally associated with their chosen course of study. These projects form part of a tailored personalised programme which sets out to make the learning experience more relevant, practical and active. Given the subject based aspects of the curriculum are organised in five-week blocks, there is ample opportunity to follow up each topic with enrichment activities, including one-to-one and group tutorials to consolidate learning. Where feasible, work experience and external trips are also scheduled in week six at the conclusion of each block. These bespoke elements of the curriculum are integral to the overall offer at De Salis and, for employers, they are seen to be crucial as the means to develop the workplace skills and attitudes which make learners stand out in a competitive jobs market. The programme also ensures that learners are well positioned to compete for places at university; enrol on high quality apprenticeship schemes; consider internships; or enrol on a whole range of work-based training programmes. Please find below arrangements for the academic year 2018-19 which sets out clear start and end dates for each term. It is also important to note periods of College closure as learners and staff are not required to report at these times. Within these dates, each individual learner will be given a bespoke programme designed to meet his or her learning needs and ensure that interim targets, in terms of progress are met. This is to ensure that no learner falls behind. Details of these arrangements will be provided well in advance of the programme. 

 

PLEASE NOTE: The dates between Autumn Term 2019 - Summer Term 2020 are subject to change. 

 

SPRING TERM 2019

 

Term Begins: Monday 8th April 2019

 

Good Friday: Friday 19th April 2019

 

Easter Monday: Monday 22nd April 2019

 

Bank Holiday : Monday 6th May 2019

 

Bank Holiday: Monday 27th May 2019

 

Term Ends: Friday 28th June 2019

 

College Closure: Monday 1st to Friday 5th July 2019

 

Staff Training: Tuesday 23rd July 2019

 

 

SUMMER TERM 2019

 

Term begins: Monday 8th July 2019 

 

Term Ends: Friday 16th August 2019 

 

College Closure: Monday 19th - Friday 30th August 2019  

 

 

AUTUMN TERM 2019

 

Term Begins: Monday 2nd September July 2019

 

Term Ends: Thursday 19th December 2019 

 

WINTER TERM 2019- 20

 

Term Begins: Monday 6th January 2020

 

Term Ends: Friday 27th March 2020  

 

 

SRING TERM 2020

 

Term Begins:  Monday 6th April 2020

 

Good Friday: Friday 10th April 2020

 

Easter Monday: Monday 13th April 2020

 

Bank Holiday:  Monday 4th May 2020

 

Bank Holiday: Monday 25th May 2020

 

Term Ends: Friday 26th June 2020

 

SUMMER TERM 2020

 

Term Begins: Monday 6th July 2020

 

Term Ends: Friday 7th August 2020 

 

Details concerning arrangements for further personalised learning for each individual will be communicated throughout the year, and well in advance of each occasion. 

 

 

Contact Us